Its about…. Community

Hi Everyone.

I know on a recent episode of the Behind The Ears Podcast, I mentioned that I would be doing most of my blogging over on that site, linking over here.  That’s my intent.  However, there are times where I will be posting solely on my behalf.  Think of these posts as more of my personal thoughts on Disney, travel, and the like.

I have to say, I miss blogging in many ways.  While I do not have any issues with podcasting taking up much of my time, I think that the written word has some distinct advantages in conveying a certain message.  Words are said and can simply be taken at face value.  Easy to do and you can always go back to what you said for a point of reference.

Danny and I mentioned “The Disney Community” many times on the show.  We also consider our listeners a part of that community as well as our own show’s community of fans.  (A community which, I have no shame in saying, I work hard in trying to expand.)  A community takes all sorts of people to make it go around.  Its very much like family.  It sure is an extended ohana.

I still find it somewhat ironic that some of my closest friends were made over social media of sorts.  Even before pages like Facebook or Twitter, I made friends over at MousePlanet and I am still close with many of them today.  I even met some of them in real life, which was epic and I hope to see them again soon.  The number of these friends are growing every day and I really do appreciate each and every one of them, especially since I get to know them through purposeful communication, exchange of dialogs, and even the cultivation of ideas.  Like any community of friends, it takes time to elevate those friendships to different levels – but that is a life thing.  It’s something I am willing to work on.

I guess what I am saying is this… no matter what you do, no matter what your passion may be, you are a part of a community.  Take advantage of that.  For me, and my fellow Disney fans, there are many different groups where we can call our hangouts.  That is also one of the reasons why Danny and I created The Disney Community over at Facebook.  It is a place where we can all feel at home, exchange Disney stories, questions, and ideas, and make some friends in the process.  I think that is what community is all about.

Shameless plug?  No.  Just letting you know that I know there are many different groups out there on Facebook.  At the same time, there are a few that try to cultivate a sense of something a bit more.  That is what we are going for.

I really appreciate those of you that visit the site often even though I have not posted in a long time.  Please check out the Behind The Ears Podcast and The Disney Community and I hope to see you online sometime soon.

Take care – and stay magical.

-C

 

Leave a Reply

