Aftermath thoughts…

This has got to be one of the hardest blog posts that I have ever attempted thus far.

Partially because of the subject matter.  Partially because its an opinion of mine.  Please know that I write this respectfully and without judgement or finger-pointing.

In the aftermath of what has happened at Disney this past week, I think it’s safe to say that we can’t comprehend what the family went through and what they are going through as they grieve the loss of their son.

But now that the tragedy itself has achieved a certain state of closure, I noticed a lot more Disney fans on the internet starting to make some very interesting comments about who is to blame for such a tragedy.  Is it Disney?  Is it the Parents?  Lack of signage?  Lack of animal control?  Is Disney safe?  The questions are starting to get pointed.  The comments are starting to get rather heated.

As an engineer, when something goes wrong, I tend to want to find answers.  It’s just a part of me.  I want to know what can be done better.  What can be done to prevent a failure in a system in the future.  We call it a “root cause analysis.”  We tend to follow a process of “the five why’s” where you start backwards from the incident and ask five questions that were contributing factors.  The theory is that by the time you hit the fifth question and answer, you then have your root cause.

This is a case where I think the Disney community needs to allow the experts to ask those questions and take action in order to restore the Magic for all guests.  We, collectively, would benefit from not placing, or trying to find blame.  It would benefit the community to hold off from making recommendations on how to make things better or safer because it seems like even those comments have generated debate, for some reason. We will all be more diligent around open areas because of this.  We need not draw attention to this topic because it has received plenty of visibility on its own.  I’m not asking to forget what happened.  I am recommending that we respect what happened and to whom it happened.

As Disney fans, I know we are passionate about our favorite place on Earth.  The feedback being posted is just a way to show that passion – that I understand.  I am simply making the recommendation that to help restore the magic, we focus on the magic and allow the experts and Cast Members to make the changes necessary for us to experience the magic.

I’m only speculating, but I have a feeling that Lane and his family would want it that way.

I hope you understand where I’m coming from on this.  I respect everyone’s opinions.

Please feel free to share on Facebook and re-tweet if you would like and let me know if you have any questions or comments.

Thanks for reading.

-C

 

Leave a Reply

