Temporary Tourist Article – Weddings inside MK.

via Disney Offering Weddings inside Magic Kingdom — Temporary Tourist

I just celebrated my anniversary last week.  I wish I can say that I remember every moment of my wedding day but I cant.

I remember my bride to be walking down the isle and we both said “hi” and smiled to each other when she stepped in front  of me.

I remember singing to her during our ceremony.  (Yea, one more hidden talent of mine..)

I remember our vows, of course.

And our first kiss…. again, of course. 🙂

I remember giving her a big hug at the reception, picking her up at the same time.  This ripped some of the trim off her wedding dress.  Her one of a kind, hand made by my mom, wedding dress.  (My mom spent 11 months making that dress… I don’t dare remind her of that.)

I guess as I sit here, I remember a lot more of that day than I give myself credit.

Now, I have to admit, I would love to have had a Disney wedding.  Heck, I would love to do some sort of renewal on property.  I would love to give my daughter a Disney wedding some day.  I know she would love it to pieces.

At the same time, there is something to be said about being practical.  While Disney weddings are great, you do pay a premium for that greatness.  That is not me knocking the idea of having a Disney wedding.  I am simply observing that it a huge financial undertaking.

I mean… I think we did our wedding for about $5000 all in, start to finish.  On top of that, I bought my wife a cheap used car, paid for the honeymoon, and put the down payment down on our first house.  Between the two of us, we were in for about $12K.  That may not be a lot for a wedding these days, but it was a LOT for us considering we were paying for it ourselves.

Then I read this…

Premiere locations such as the Magic Kingdom, with a completely customized ceremony and reception for 100 guests, start at $75,000.

Read that carefully.  That package -starts- at that price.  I think that means that add in a few options and you are looking at a venue that can set you back the cost of a small house.

I’m chuckling while think about that.  I think it would be a blast to do this sort of thing.  But you know deep down that 1) Disney is making a ton of cash on such an offering by having the most awesome venue in the world for a wedding and 2) you know that people will pay that premium.  Some may call it yet another cash grab.  I call it a good idea for Disney and something that ranks up there with a Club 33 reservation or a night at Cinderella Castle along the lines of uniqueness.

You know that people would stop and stare during your special time, especially since they are not going to shut down the Magic Kingdom for your event.  I know I would stop and watch to witness what is probably going to be one of the most beautiful weddings ever.

Leave a Reply

