Celebrate Memories

As I sit here after a day of work, I stared at the clock and calendar on my desktop for some silly reason.  Why did this day seem to have significance?

Then it hit me.

10 years ago, I was on the Disney Wonder celebrating a major milestone in my life.  After a long haul, I finally completed my Bachelors Degree.  I decided that instead of walking across the stage, I took the money I would have spent and took my family, along with my mom and mother in law on a cruise.  Let me tell you, that was so much more memorable than wearing a funny robe and walking across the stage.

You see, it took me a while to get that diploma.  I ran out of money a few times, got married, had a couple of kids, went back to school full time while working more than full time, built a house, and finished strong – graduating with honors.  It was a trip.  It was the kind of trip that can only be celebrated by going on an epic trip.

It was a trip to the Bahama’s.  A shorter trip to Nassau and then to Castaway Cay, which is my favorite part of the trip.  I got to spend some very well deserved time with my family.  Sure, it was a bit cooler on the high seas being February, but it did not matter.  It was the time of our lives.

I remember eating things that I never tried before.  I walked the streets of Nassau with my mom as she told me of how it changed since she was there with my dad.  We saw some great shows and I even got to go snorkeling this time.  Of course, there was a lot more going on and I have many stories to tell.  But I would probably drive myself nuts thinking about which stories to tell.

After we got back to land, we all went to the World.  We went to Epcot after we arrived and I got to show my mom the park that was still being built the last time we were there.  Of course that brings up memories of being there as a kid, which brings many smiles. We stayed at the Boardwalk Villas in a 2BR villa, which was what hooked us on wanting to buy into the Disney Vacation Club.  Gosh, I remember it like it was yesterday.

Oh yes, the Superbowl was also that day.  Not that I paid attention to that at all.

The next day, our last, we spent it at the Magic Kingdom where we made a quick trip to some of our favorite attractions.  As we were leaving, the parade came through – but this was not any normal parade as it was the cavalcade that showcased the winners of the Superbowl.   I cant really tell you who won that year, but I will never forget seeing Mickey in a big football helmet, ears sticking out and everything.

The past decade has been quite the trip for my family and me.  I know that at times I questioned some of my decisions.  But one thing is for sure.  I will never ever question or regret the time or money that I spend on vacations with my family.  I think the memories are too important, even if they are not always combined with one of the greatest accomplishments of my life.

Go out there and make memories with your family!

Till next time…

-C

 

Leave a Reply

