Disney Trip Planning Perspectives

As I take a small lunch break from work, I’m sitting here listening to some Epcot background music.  I swear that this music helps me think clearer throughout the day.  I don’t know what it is, but I feel like I get less distracted with any Disney music in the background.

More so, I’m thinking about the several people that I talked to or emailed this past week about their Disney vacation plans.  Some are Disney vets while some are new to everything.  To be honest, I am rather humbled that they thought of me when it came to getting some unbiased Disney trip planning.  I enjoy helping in that way as much as anything else.

It also causes me to pause for a moment.

I tend to take trip planning for granted when it comes to planning for my own family.  That’s not a bad thing, it just comes easy to my wife and I.  To others, this is a very big deal.  It’s a time and financial commitment with the dream and goal of giving their family and/or friends the time of their lives.  To do that, they need information.

Good, reliable information.

Information that’s based off their needs, is factual, and without bias.

I understand that not everyone vacations like I do but there are common planning points that future guests should clearly understand in order to not make common mistakes.  I know that the final plans are their decisions.  And to be honest, I am glad.  Why?  Because when I hear their stories, I get inspired about things that I may not have yet tried.  I live vicariously through their stories and pictures and I share in their stories of magical experiences.  We each learn through our experiences – both the good and the bad.

I compare how I vacation now versus my first Disney trip.  Its much different these days.  I recall how I could not figure things out walking through the Magic Kingdom for the first time in 25 years.  (I kept looking for the Skyway between Tomorrowland and Fantasyland as an example.)  I was reminded of that when I went to Disneyland this past October for the first time as well.  I knew the layout of the park, but the visual cues caused my brain to think different things.  Next time, I will be much better along the lines of navigation.  The example simply makes me think about how others see the parks the first time as well.  It puts a lot in perspective.  It makes me appreciate my own planning process.  It makes me appreciate the planning process for others as well.  What may seem like common sense for me may not or will not be common sense for others.

That is something that I would like to do through this blog and other writings.  I would like to help make the common sense aspects of enjoying a Disney vacation more known to everyone.  My intent is to not only share what I know but also learn from others for the sake of helping even more.  To steal a line from a popular Disney song… its part of the “Circle of Life.”

I hope you enjoy what you see here.  If you have any questions, comments, or have any topic ideas, let me know!

Thanks!

-Chris

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

