Online Disney Music Stations Take A Hit

With the senses humans have, many different things bring up memory’s of the past.  Personally, I think that is even more the case when it comes to what we sense during a vacation.  Heck, I still recall the smell of a candle that we bought at Walt Disney World during our first trip.  Little did I know that I would be searching for that scent for year to come.  Its not that there is something super special or intoxicating about that scent.  It’s just that it brings back memories of a time that I think changed my life for the better.

Music is a big part of my life.  I learned how to play the cello in school and learned how to appreciate all sorts of music.  Sure, I am more inclined to play some hair band from the 80’s than classical while working in my garage, but it does not mean that I dont have my share of Mozart in my collection.

My first trips to Disney took my appreciation for different music to a whole new level.  Not only did I fall in love with all the different background music but the music from the parades and attractions also landed into my heart and my life.  I would buy CD’s of the different music while on site and I would go to Live365 and other streaming venues to seek out what I heard while I was at the parks.  As I would see the song and artist info scroll by, I would search different ways on how I can purchase what I heard at the parks and create my own one-off soundtracks that would bring back memories of Disney vacations.

As a result, lets say after a lot of money spent, I have quite a collection.  And I have a lot of people to thank for that.  For starters, those involved with streaming those stations – thank you.  Thank You.  THANK YOU!  I am not going to pretend to know how much time you spent on making your station the best for your listeners.  Just know that it was appreciated.  You really did, and still do, allow me to relive some of those memories of past trips.

Now… for the bad news.  Live365 is going down at the end of the month thanks to changes in rules that involve royalty payments.  It’s not their fault from what I can tell.  After all, artists should get paid for their work.  The problem is that many internet broadcasters, thousands upon thousands of them, are now scrambling to try to find an alternative to what they had before.  For some, they landed in a new streaming site.  Others changed their format or will even stop broadcasting.  Keep in mind, this is not just for Disney music, but music in general.  Its quite a hit.  While I know my listening via Live365 and other streaming stations were targeted towards a niche genre of music, I know there are thousands out there that are going to be very upset come the end of the month.

But there is some good news.  Very good news.

Many of the Disney broadcasters are indeed finding new places from which they can stream.  Some plan on streaming from their own site as well.  I hope this means business as usual for those broadcasters.

Now, to help them out, as something as a thanks, I want to share with you some of the Internet stations that I listen to the most and where I believe they will broadcast from at the end of the month.  (All subject to change)  This is a random list and I am not getting any sort of compensation for the shout-out.  If nothing else, I just want people to support these broadcasters any way possible either through listening to them or even visiting their sponsors.

To those who own those sites…. again, thank you for the past and for trying to keep the future of Disney streaming music alive.  To those whom I may have missed, first my apologies and please let me know of your site as you can never have too many Disney music options.

 

Leave a Reply

