The School-Parks-Vacation Discussion

Hello All,

This week over at MousePlanet, I contributed to this weeks Parenting In The Parks article:

Taking Kids Out of School to Go To the Parks

Link

To be honest, this topic of discussion is not one that can be easily answered.  This is because there are so many different variables that need to be considered.  Items such as school policy, your child’s academic status, and how many absences will accrue are just the tip of the iceberg.  It really is not as simple as yes or no – and it seems when anyone asks if it is a good idea, all you get are yes or no answers.

Granted, I am one to say that there are better times to vacation at Disney than others.  There are considerations that the parents have to think about that pertain to their own careers and available vacation time.  For those Disney fans in education as an example, many times their only options are either summer vacation, spring break or Christmas vacation.  None of these areas fall under the value, less-busy season.  I mean, Disney between Christmas and New Years goes beyond insane.

Personally, I don’t judge those that take their kids out of school to go on vacation.  My take is that as long as you really think about the reasons behind the choice, then it is the right decision for you.  Simply respect the comments of those who bring up the cons to doing so as well – they are most likely trying to help you see both sides of the coin.

Sure, Disney can be an educational experience as well.  Some try to write it off as such.  Heck, there are some awesome learning experiences to be had, especially at Animal Kingdom and Epcot.  (I highly recommend the Behind the Seeds Tour in the Land.)  However, a vacation will tend to always be a vacation first.  And it should be.  I know I want to stray away as much as possible from the real world while I’m there.  So should you.

I hope you enjoy the article.  I would love to hear what you think or if you have a topic that you would like for me to consider.

Dont forget to follow me on Twitter (@GusMan90) and on Instagram (@GusMan_90)

Till next time, take care and be safe!

-C

Leave a Reply

