The Blank Page Conundrum

This past month has gone by very quickly.  That could be good and that could be bad.  Just know that I really don’t plan on being one of those Disney bloggers that starts off and then just fades away.  There is a reason for the silence and I would like to share with you some of my experiences for the past month.

In my “real life” I have been working toward a level of certification for work.  It’s mainly to document and prove / defend my expertise in the subject matter that is my career.  The past month or so, I have isolated myself in order to write what has turned out to be something of a doctoral dissertation.  I invested dozens of hours into the document, which I submitted for review last Friday.  (Three days ahead of schedule, I might add.)  Now, I wait. I wait for feedback and if all goes my way, an indicator that I make it to the next phase of the process.

Do you know what the hardest part was in this process so far?  Simply starting with a blank page and trying to decide what to document first.  That blank page is the most intimidating thing in the world.  I don’t care if you are a writer, artist, accountant, engineer, or a dedicated dreamer, there is something about that first mark on that page that drives you nuts.  That first mark has the potential of being your driving force or inspiration for everything else to follow.  Granted, there were many times during this process where I had to stop, regroup, and start over in some cases.  It felt like I had to make that first mark all over again.  However, as I saw the progress meeter creep towards 100%, I knew that every step I took was a step closer to completion.

I have a picture in my office of Walt Disney that has him walking in an empty field with Cinderella Castle superimposed lightly in the background.  Underneath it says “Vision – “It is kind of fun to do the impossible. – Walt Disney.””  I thought about that quite often over the past 4 months.  To have vision – a goal – knowing that the hard work very well may not take you anywhere.  Or that the hard work very well may result in criticism.  Or that the hard work very well may get in the way of your family and friends.  I am sure that Walt thought about those things throughout the times when he was dreaming up Disneyland as well as Walt Disney World.

But I can almost guarantee one thing – if he did not take the risks, he would never see the reward.  Walt being the dreamer that he was, I am rather sure that was really on the forefront of his mind.  I mean, he knew what it was like to fail yet it never stopped him from moving forward.  That is the attitude I started to assimilate in this process.  I have a goal I want to accomplish and I am going to do the best I can to do so.

You might be wondering where I am going with this.  Quite simply, I want to challenge you to find your inspiration.  Sure, it may be a bit early to list New Years Resolutions or anything like that, but it is never too early to do a little dreaming.  It does not matter if it is planning your next Disney vacation, working towards a career goal, or simply building better relationships, the first step to making progress is making that first mark on that blank page.

“All our dreams can come true if we have the courage to pursue them.” – Walt Disney.

Keep dreaming, my friends.
-C

Leave a Reply

