Congrats to my sister and new brother in law!

While I would rather keep my family comments in this blog to a minimum, I wanted to take exception to this for a moment to reflect on something rather happy and significant.

My sister is getting married today.  And while I am not able to make it to the event, I will probably think about it most of today.  Not because I feel bad for not making it – but its because my sister found someone great in her life. 

Notice how I said that… she found someone great.  That wording was not by accident.

I admire my brother-in-law for loving my sister enough to make this life long commitment.  I know that he and I dont have a whole lot in common, but I have a lot of respect for him.  He is a hard working man that seems to want only whats best for his family.  That in of itself is enough to earn my respect.  Why?  Because it is one of the best character traits a man can have.  It is something my father taught me and I think it is a very vital part of any successful family unit.  He never met my dad, but I think dad would approve.

My sister and I never really got along all that well as kids, if I really want to be honest with myself.  We were, and still are, polar opposites.  In fact, I think our relationship gets better the more miles that are between us.  I know that sounds like a horrible thing to say, but I say it with love because I think over the time, and miles, Ive come to understand her a bit more.  She deserves the happiness that comes with this day.  She deserves it to be special.  She deserves to be surrounded by her family in celebration of her life with her new husband.  She deserves this time with her family, away from it all to just relax, recharge, and enjoy.  (And seeing the Facebook posts, shes doing just that!)

Im no dummy… I know my sister and brother in law are going to read this.  And since I cant be there in person… and the fact that I cant officiate the ceremony… here is what I want to say:

I hope and pray for happiness and love in your lives.  I pray that you seek the love that God has in store for you and know that He has a plan for both of you – both as individuals and together as husband and wife.  At times, you will endure challenges.  That’s to be expected.  But take time to celebrate your lives together a little bit every day.  Don’t ever let the words “I love you” go a day without it being said to each other – and feel free to say it to each other in front of your kids as they need to see that as well.  I could quote Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure by saying “Be excellent to each other…”  But instead, just know that in the book of 1st Corinthians it says “Love never fails.”

I think I will leave it at that.  Congrats, you too! Hope to see you again soon!

Leave a Reply

